RSS

One More Step Before The Nigerian Hate Bill Becomes A Law

01 Jun
Source: wikipedia

Source: wikipedia

While more countries are striking down anti-gay laws and making new ones to enable and protect gay marriage, many countries in Africa are moving in the backward direction of strengthening the already present anti-gay laws, countries like Nigeria. It’s not enough that being gay is already illegal, the law-makers are pushing forward a bill that seeks to further criminalize it with prison sentences of up to 14 years for LGBT and allies. On Thursday 30th May, the House of Representatives passed the bill, meaning that it goes to the President Goodluck Jonathan for approval. Should he do so, I fear for what will happen to gay men and women in Nigeria. Already gay-bashing is rampant and people have lost their jobs on the basis of perceived (not proven) homosexuality. The country is already strongly divided in so many ways – religion and tribe to name a few ways that should not be important in 2013 especially in a developing nation. It is sad the legislators are more interested in driving the country further apart than in pushing for its togetherness and continued development. Interestingly enough, people keep saying that there is no way the President will pass such a bill but that was also the general consensus when it moved to the House of Representatives for consideration. I hope this ridiculous piece of legislature and supreme waste of tax-payers’ money doesn’t move any further than it has already done. However I won’t be holding my breath.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2013 in Politik

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “One More Step Before The Nigerian Hate Bill Becomes A Law

  1. Clare Flourish

    June 1, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    I see that Ghana prohibits “sexual intercourse in an unnatural manner”, and since gay sex is profoundly natural, it must be OK. I don’t fancy my chances of arguing that in court, though. I hope President Jonathan makes the right decision.

     
    • D.C.

      June 2, 2013 at 12:46 pm

      Funny you should mention that because a lawyer is trying to get the courts to clarify what “sexual intercourse in an unnatural manner” means. None of them wants to touch that one.

       
      • Clare Flourish

        June 2, 2013 at 12:53 pm

        If it is less than what people actually do, where do you draw the line? Is coitus interruptus in the missionary position “unnatural”? Given that you need monogamy to bring up children, arguably, is sex outside marriage “unnatural”?

         
      • D.C.

        June 2, 2013 at 12:55 pm

        The aim of the motion really is to force the courts to take a stance on homosexuality but you are right on all counts.

         
  2. jukk888

    June 1, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    I’m surprised nobody at allout, avaaz or similar organizations haven’t started any campaigns against this. I’ll think about a campaign tonight and maybe start one.

     
    • D.C.

      June 2, 2013 at 12:47 pm

      There were petitions made when the bill came up initially. I don’t think they had much of an effect

       
      • jukk888

        June 3, 2013 at 12:11 pm

        I know what you mean. My petition is not doing well. I don’t know why Uganda got a lot of support, but few people care about Nigeria.

         
      • D.C.

        June 4, 2013 at 1:43 am

        I signed it, like I signed every other petition related to this bill. It may not be much but it is something..

         
  3. jukk888

    June 1, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    I have started a campaign at avaaz.org. Check out my latest post and tweet. It’s also on twitter.

     
  4. caedmonrhys

    June 1, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    This news makes me very sad. 😦 How are you in all this?

     
    • D.C.

      June 4, 2013 at 1:44 am

      Life continues, even if it’s a little more difficult..

       
  5. manleben

    June 5, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    Once again misplaced priorities. Instead of focusing on other problems, resources have been pulled to this stop the “infamous homosexual agenda”.

    I often wonder how these politicians sleep at night. Also if homosexuality is so “unAfrican” then an argument can be made for almost all religions on the continent today….

     
    • D.C.

      June 6, 2013 at 3:30 am

      Yes, virtually every major religion on the continent today is imported. On some level, I don’t blame the politicians as much as I blame the people that keep silent or even worse support such nonsense.

       
  6. tiffany267

    June 6, 2013 at 3:06 am

    So glad someone is blogging on it. It’s terrifying news.

    Related post on my blog: http://tiffany267.wordpress.com/2013/06/03/the-curious-case-of-legislating-on-the-sexual-practices-of-consensual-adults

    So glad to be your newest follower!

     
  7. fundamentallyqueer

    June 6, 2013 at 3:26 am

    It’s just smoke and mirrors. This is typical. The government is appealing to the “infamous gay agenda” because it tugs at the heartstrings of most Nigerians in Nigeria (who have a very backwards way of thinking). The trade off is the public loses sight of the real issues of poverty and corruption in the country. Developing my ass!

    This bill has plagued me since I first got wind of it back in 2011. But I must say that it’s not surprising that petitions are moving slow. The people that are typically more inclined to speak up are the ones that it directly affects. If your name appears of the petition that is sent to the government, you are labelled as a “gay supporter”, which according to the bill is an offense equivalent to the same jail-time and the gay person you are supporting. Keeping that in mind, it’s most likely foreigners (who don’t have a direct stake…other than sympathy/empathy) and expatriate Nigerians (many of whom share the same beliefs of the Nigerian government). So what does that leave us with…

    It’s really sad. Being a queer Nigerian man I find it so disturbing that I may not ever be able to live my life back home. It’s because of things like this that I’m slowly extracting myself from the culture. I haven’t been back home in nearly 4 years and whenever I’m asked if I want to go back to settle, I say there’s nothing back there for me because I am not ready to out myself, and I’m not ready to spend my life wondering when someone will get me thrown in jail. Le sigh…

     
    • D.C.

      June 9, 2013 at 3:15 pm

      I totally understand you. With such political movements, it does get difficult to be yourself. It seems that the bill seeks to destroy connections within families – which is so nasty as family is such a strong group in most African countries. Sometimes I wonder if living in Ghana and being myself will be possible in the next 10 years, or whether I’d have to leave just to have peace of mind and body.

       
  8. angryricky

    June 8, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    I think we’ve talked about it before, but a lot of African literature (like Our Sister Killjoy) points out that homosexuality was a native African thing that European missionaries tried to wipe out. It only became a symbol of Western corruption after Africans left the old ways to become Christians. I’m sorry for the way you (collectively) are being persecuted there. I sign what petitions come my way, but I also doubt their ability to change things.

     
    • D.C.

      June 9, 2013 at 3:17 pm

      Yes we have. I guess we will all find out soon what course the Nigerian president decides to take for the country on this issue.

       
  9. aguywithoutboxers

    June 18, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    Thank you my blogging brother and friend, for writing on this topic. This is one of the poorest excuses for an action of a responsible government. With all of the issues facing the peoples of Nigeria, this is merely another example of dividing the nation so the corrupt can remain in power and fiscally rape the nation.

    My aunt is Nigerian and my cousins hold dual citizenship, Greek and Nigerian. They are enraged over this discriminatory and marginalizing proposal.

    Much love and naked hugs! Welcome back from your trip to the USA!

     

Drop a line..or two

 
