RSS

It’s No Longer Only About “Money, Cars, Hoes”

30 Apr

One type of music I’ve not enjoyed a lot of is rap, the mainstream kind. Sure, there are a lot of lyrical folks out there but most of them eventually fall into the habit of creating music centred around driving the flashiest cars, having a 5-some with 5 beautiful women and generally spending tons of money. It’s hard enough having to pretend caring about that girl’s backside when I’m with straight friends and I’d rather not spend my private time pretending some more. My fantasies also do not involve driving flashy cars or anything more than a 2-some.

Enter Goody Goodies from Cakes Da Killa. He’s a twenty-two year old rapper from the US who’s been out since the third grade. I  enjoy his pace and sassy yet funny persona although some of his lines are rude and occasionally I felt like wiping my speakers down ’cause they had been violated by an onslaught of F-and-N-bombs (up until a few years ago I couldn’t listen to any song with the F-word anywhere, the censored versions with the gaps were even worse). These days there are out gay rappers who are making good music (and not just gay music) so I guess it’s time I explored this genre of music again. I can’t wait to listen to what he makes next.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2013 in Tunes and Tones, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “It’s No Longer Only About “Money, Cars, Hoes”

  1. aguywithoutboxers

    April 30, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    Cool! It’s funny how we all evolve as a person. What we found repulsive two years ago we now enjoy! A very honest perspective, my blogging brother! Much love! Naked hugs. 🙂

     
  2. ivansblogworld

    May 1, 2013 at 8:18 am

    Have nominated you for a blog award. Ivan

     
  3. kenyanphil

    May 17, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    I am a bit worried since I drop some words occasionally when writing, but I have come to look at them as figures of speech, not curse words. It makes my day go much smoother. I went through my music and most of it lacks such words, at which point I am not even sure why I use them, oh well..

     
    • D.C.

      May 20, 2013 at 7:44 am

      Maybe it depends on the kind of music you listen to. Part of my initial attraction to genres like down tempo was the relaxed, stress-free and curse-free nature of the music. In my private life, I actually swear a lot, especially when driving 🙂

       
  4. fundamentallyqueer

    June 6, 2013 at 3:52 am

    BOMB!

     

Drop a line..or two

 
