RSS

Liebster Blog Awards – It’s Time to Update Your Reader!

26 Apr

LiebsterI got nominated twice for the Liebster blog awards by Gay Dinosaur Tales and A Guy Without Boxers, two blogs with great content I started following recently. The Liebster Blog Award was created as a way of making readers aware of blogs that they should check out. I for one think it’s a good idea because unless you constantly check on the categories of your choice 24/7, you will definitely miss out on some of the good stuff that is out there.

Here are the Liebster Award rules:

  • Thank the Liebster Blog Presenter who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  • Post 11 facts about yourself, answer the 11 questions you were asked and create 11 questions for your nominees.
  • Nominate 11 blogs you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen.
  • Display the Liebster Award logo
  • No tag back.

Being nominated by two people means I have twice as many questions to answer. Again, I’m faced with choosing what I should talk about and what I shouldn’t. Sadly the things I really want to talk  about are the ones I know I should probably leave out. Let’s get to it.

11 Things About Me That I Haven’t Already Talked About:

  1. I’ve been told I dress like a hobo.
  2. Nineteen years ago, I started reading a book which I had to return to the owner. I finally finished it last month after buying it online. That’s how much I’m haunted by the books I haven’t finished – the good ones that is.
  3. I love music and art. I was raised in a culture that celebrates academic prowess in professional courses over all others and growing up, I was made to give up drawing/painting. If I could go back in time, I would not do so.
  4. Sometimes I enjoy going clubbing alone: there’s just something relaxing about going to a great club and dancing on my own without trying to make sure everyone else is having fun.
  5. In attempt to empower myself and gain self-discipline, I took up karate some years ago. Practice Grunge numbersinvolved training barefoot on rough concrete floors. When my feet started bleeding, my sensei told me to STFU and consider that a baptism (of sorts). I lasted three months because I could not hit anyone during the sparring – I was so bad that I would close my eyes while throwing a punch. I never graded and all I have to show for it today are callused feet and below average skill at heian shodan.
  6. One of my favorite movies from ‘teenage-hood’ is The Garden of Redemption.
  7. I don’t like scented candles. 
  8. My personality type is INTJ, These days, being an introvert is considered cool since we’re living in the age of the introspective, “deep” nerd but for most of my life it hasn’t been easy and my relationships have suffered greatly.
  9. I cannot stand dirty dishes or a messy kitchen. If I don’t take care of them, I start seeing them in my head then I have to get up and go wash them. It’s so bad that one time I slept over in a friend’s house after a party, saw his messy sink the morning after and cleaned it up.  Then cleaned the entire kitchen.
  10. Sometimes when I’m reading a book and I get to a really exciting/shocking/scandalous bit, I have to put it down, run around screaming for a few minutes, then restart the book from one or two chapters earlier just so I can relive the excitement again. Then I repeat this process, but without the running and screaming part.
  11. For as long as I can remember, I have always thought odd numbers are lonely since they are odd while even numbers have each other – don’t ask me why.

From Gay Dinosaur Tales:

  1. If you could invite one person to dinner (living or dead) who would it be and why? This is a hard one. I’ve thought about presidents, authors, villains, comedians but I keep coming back to my grandmother: my father barely remembers her for she died when he was very young (she was young as well) and there are no pictures of her anywhere. My dad’s childhood isn’t something he talks about and the part that he shares is not pleasant – part of the unpleasantness had to do with not having a mother in a polygamous home. I guess I would just want to know what her life was like, and what my father was like as a child.
  2. What quirk do you have that sometimes embarrasses you? I’m not sure if this qualifies as a quirk but I have a tendency too many questions. Sometimes I have to set limits in my head just so I don’t piss people off.
  3. What is one thing on your bucket list you must do before you die? Drink sake in Japan.
  4. Is there a particular time of day in which you prefer to write? Morning.
  5. Where is the place that you feel most at home? The living room in my parents’ house.
  6. Why do you blog? I started this blog because I needed to express internal thoughts and ideas in aNigori-Sake space that was not known to my family or friends or else I’d go mad from keeping so much bottled inside. At that point, a few of my gay friends were starting to draw away from me because I was becoming too “gay”, wasn’t interested in getting married to a woman and was always going on and on about rights. I was also starting to withdraw from people because I was worried I would blurt something out from the frustration and get myself into hot water. So I blog to release tension, express my innermost ideas (some of them), talk about the issues that I consider interesting and just be myself since I cannot do this fully in my everyday life.
  7. If you could be anybody you wanted, who would it be and why? Another hard one. If I could be anyone else, would that mean I’d have to take on their personality and their problems too a la Quantum Leap or could I just pick the qualities I wanted from them? I think I’d like to be Leonardo Da Vinci (albeit a less dilatory one) – he could do virtually everything and with exceptional skill. The fact that he was probably gay  further strengthens this choice.
  8. What one thing you’ve done that you will leave behind after you exit this world are you proudest of? Initially I thought I wouldn’t be able to say anything here but looking back, I have helped some people in the course of my professional (and private) life at a time that I didn’t have to and I would gain nothing from doing so. I know that I have made a difference in their lives, just as there are people who have changed me for the better by the things they did for me. These are more important to me than any other achievements. Unfortunately I cannot go into detail for obvious reasons and sometimes I feel that talking about the specifics of such things cheapens the (good) deed.
  9. Who is your blogging idol? Clare Flourish and Angry Ricky – they constantly put up very engaging posts which often deal with being Christian and gay, two major issues that I still haven’t fully come to terms with in my ongoing journey. Both also have a way of expressing emotions in words that is honest and spell-binding, a skill I would only be too lucky to learn.
  10. When you are not blogging, what do you most enjoy doing? Reading or surfing the web.
  11. Have you already, or do you plan to publish your work someday? I plan to write a book one day, though I’ve been told repeatedly that the subject is one that has been done to death so it’s on the back (back) burner.  I also don’t think I’m good enough to tackle a novel.

From A Guy Without Boxers:

  1. If you were stranded on a desert island, what three items must you have? a big Swiss army knife, a thick blanket, a thick glass jar.
  2. What is your favorite dessert?  Can’t choose between tropical fruit salad with vanilla ice cream (a lot of it) and black tea with carrot cake.
  3. Who is your favorite author and the title of the book? I don’t have one favourite book or author. One of my favourites is “Snow Crash” by Neal Stephenson. I’m hoping I forget a lot of the good sections soon so I can read it again.
  4. What historical person would you want to meet and why? Karl Heinrich Ulrichs – I’d like to know where he got the strength to carry on and do the things he did, and how he managed to survive in such an environment.
  5. What is your favorite time of the day and why? Twilight. When I was younger, my siblings would wake me up at this time and laugh at my confusion because I could never tell if it was morning or evening and occasionally I would start getting ready for school – at 5.30pm – before I realized what the time actually was. During this time of the day, the day and night, light and darkness, the sun and the moon meet and there’s something mystical about this period that appeals to me.
  6. What is your favorite hobby? Reading whilst listening to music via headphones whilst eating a spicy snack – sensory overload. I know, I need a real hobby 🙂
  7. Have you ever skinny-dipped (swim nude) with friends? No. I’m too shy to be naked around other people.
  8. What is your favorite sport? Does Drag Racing (Rupaul’s Drag Race) count?
  9. What is your favorite holiday/vacation destination? I’ve never taken a vacation. My friends keepamber light trying to get me to take one but I just think I’m not yet at that place in my life financially where I can take a trip just because. Also, I cannot imagine taking a trip just to relax without any other goals attached to it.
  10. How do you commute to work? Sometimes I drive but mostly I take taxis. Traffic in Accra is terrible and I’d rather spend the time catching up on my emails/messages or staring out of the window than keeping my foot on the pedal whilst waiting for the red light to turn green.
  11. What is/are your reward(s) that you derive from blogging? It is an outlet of all the ideas, emotions that I cannot share with the people around me without raising eyebrows. Blogging (as well as reading other blogs has) helped me improve on my writing and learn about so many ideas, cultures and lifestyles that I probably wouldn’t have come across any other way.

Here Are My Questions:

  1. Cats or dogs or other? If other, please specify:
  2. Talk about one thing you have done or didn’t do that you regret:
  3. Name one travel accessory you cannot do without:
  4. If you could live anywhere in the world for a year, where would you pick and why?
  5. What is your favorite type of music?
  6. Name one hobby
  7. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be and why?
  8. What is your favorite holiday of the year and why?
  9. So far, what has been the high point of your WordPress blogging experience?
  10. If you could go back to any period in time to experience it or change it, what time would you choose and why?
  11. Why do you blog?

Nominated Blogs

 
16 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2013 in Randomness, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “Liebster Blog Awards – It’s Time to Update Your Reader!

  1. aguywithoutboxers

    April 26, 2013 at 10:56 am

    Congratulations on the honor, my brother from Ghana! You deserve it! You have communication skills and a mind, please keep on writing! Best wishes and much love! 🙂

     
    • D.C.

      April 26, 2013 at 11:16 am

      Thanks man 🙂

       
  2. kenyanphil

    April 26, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Aww, thank you for the nomination. 😡
    And congratulations for the award 🙂 Stay Happy!

     
    • kenyanphil

      April 30, 2013 at 8:44 pm

      oh no, My smiley is all weird, oops 🙂

       
      • D.C.

        May 1, 2013 at 8:42 am

        LOL
        Thanks and you’re welcome 🙂

         
  3. manleben

    April 26, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    would it be awkward if I nominated you again haha.

    Once again thanks for the nomination/award.

    Have a great weekend!

     
    • D.C.

      April 26, 2013 at 2:38 pm

      Yes it would be 😀
      Thanks and have a great weekend too!

       
  4. Clare Flourish

    April 26, 2013 at 2:02 pm

    COngratulations and thanks. Lovely questions, well steered between prurient and anodyne.

     
    • D.C.

      April 26, 2013 at 2:47 pm

      Thanks..and you’re welcome.
      Didn’t think there was much that was prurient in the post but I’m glad it toed the middle line 🙂

       
  5. Xeno

    April 26, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    Congratulations on the award and thanks again for the nomination. =D

     
    • D.C.

      April 26, 2013 at 2:38 pm

      🙂

       
  6. jukk888

    April 27, 2013 at 1:51 am

    Congrats and thanks

     
    • D.C.

      April 27, 2013 at 12:59 pm

      🙂

       
  7. annesquared

    April 28, 2013 at 2:31 am

    Congratulations. I got a good laugh out of how you approach a scary or exciting part of a book 🙂
    Very novel (no pun intended) approach. One I never would have considered. I usually read the ending so I know what is going to happen, then I can relax and enjoy the book. 🙂

     
    • D.C.

      April 28, 2013 at 6:05 am

      Glad you found it funny:)
      I also read the ending too occasionally – sometimes the tension is just too much!

       

Drop a line..or two

 
