RSS

Wordle: A New Apperception Test Perhaps?

10 Feb

wordle imagoI came across Wordle via The Dad Poet (thank you!) and it’s a web-based application reminiscent of the Tag Cloud that creates an image of the words from a webpage or feed with the most common words appearing in a larger font. It’s very simple and straightforward to use. You can then pick a format that best fits your personality or mood or whatever – apparently this is the most annoying word of 2012 and I totally agree! It generated an image in two seconds but it took 43 minutes before I finally selected an image out of a roll of randomly-generated font and color combinations – was unusually finicky today (I’m suffering from a very primal deficiency). Though I used the three most recent posts, I’m quite surprised (in a good way mind you) at the words that appear the most. I’m trying to feed my entire blog into Wordle but haven’t quite figured out how to do that yet. Try and it see what comes out.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2013 in Randomness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Wordle: A New Apperception Test Perhaps?

  1. D.C.

    February 10, 2013 at 9:09 am

    Reblogged this on Queer Landia.

     
  2. Clare Flourish

    February 10, 2013 at 10:49 am

    It is a fun picture, but why does the site need to “install an activeX control”? When I click “What’s this?” Internet explorer says it is something horrible which can bugger about with my computer to a limitless extent, and wordle, oddly, says it is just harmless java. But they would say that.

     
    • D.C.

      February 10, 2013 at 11:00 am

      I’m inclined to think it’s more harmless java than malevolent code since the only permission I needed to give (in Chrome) was to allow a Java applet to run…

       
  3. Clare Flourish

    February 10, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    Done. These are quite pretty. http://clareflourish.wordpress.com/about/ Thank you for the suggestion.

     
    • D.C.

      February 10, 2013 at 12:22 pm

      My pleasure 🙂

       
  4. David J. Bauman

    February 10, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Wonderful, D.C.! I love your posts at a glance. People, Rights, One. . . it shows where your heart and priorities are. Yeah, I like this little app, or whatever you want to call it. I’m tickled that you found it fun and useful. I’m not sure on the putting the whole blog in. I know when you put in the url it just takes however many posts are on your home page.

     
    • D.C.

      February 10, 2013 at 2:41 pm

      😀
      I tried to display all my previous posts on my home page but unfortunately the post limit is 50.
      Thanks again 🙂

       
      • David J. Bauman

        February 10, 2013 at 2:57 pm

        Ah! Oh well, it’s a good sample anyway. And you are so welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

         

Drop a line..or two

 
