RSS

Power Cuts, Zombie Soldiers and A Twink With A Death Wish

23 Oct

Accra is once again caught in the grips of the “load shedding” exercise during which power cuts lasting 6 to 12 hours (sometimes more) are scheduled every other day since there is an issue with the supply of electric power. At such times I realise how much my daily activities involve the use of electricity in some way even if only to power the fans since this heat is unbearable. It is also sad that we could have such a nation-wide problem in 2012. The nights are slightly better but the hearing the sound of a power generator go on all night from a neighbour’s house has to rank among the most annoying man-made noises ever. The food that I’ve prepared and stored up is going bad and I’ve been inviting friends all week to come and feast – it would kill me to just waste it and I don’t have much faith that the issues would be resolved soon. I have also had to restock my supply of candles and I really hope I don’t burn anything.

A few days ago when there was a scheduled power cut I decided to go to the cinema for a late showing of Resident Evil: Retribution. I’m not the biggest fan of the cinema in general ( I like to hear every single word said and as such a rewind button isn’t a convenience: it’s a necessity) so I don’t go much but when I do, it’s usually weekdays –  late at night or the early afternoon when the cinema is likely to be empty so imagine my surprise when I got there to meet a huge mob. Maybe I shouldn’t have been surprised since going out certainly beats sitting at home without electricity.

I’m a fan of Milla Jovovich and would probably watch anything she’s in but I will be the first to admit that many of her films and in particular the Resident Evil films, even though very profitable, are not Academy Award contenders but comparing it to the rest of the films in the series, this one could have been better. The action scenes were clean but uninspired, the acting was largely okay, but the story was a little messy, there were some weird mistakes that should have been cleaned up.

Even more annoying: I went with a friend who decided to bring a date at the last minute. His date thought it was good theatre behaviour to talk loudly on his phone whilst the film was playing. All the hisses and evil eyes from other theatre occupants seemed to go over his head. My friend kept trying to get to get him to shut up (while holding me from flicking his forehead) but he went on for seven minutes. Seven minutes of useless banter that could have been saved till we left the freaking cinema. I heard every word of the inane chitchat and pieced the entire conversation together and so did the people sitting in the rows in front of and behind us – he was that loud and would talk even louder during an action scene. I’m still surprised we weren’t kicked out.

Thankfully by the time I got home, the lights were back on and I could cool down properly. Next time I go see a film though, I will be going alone.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Power Cuts, Zombie Soldiers and A Twink With A Death Wish

  1. angryricky

    October 23, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    I feel your pain. I hate it when people talk during the movie when we’re watching it at home, so when they do it at the theatre it’s a million times worse. I’m paying what to me is a lot of money for a basically ephemeral experience, and these other people are ruining it. At least on video I can rewatch it once the people have left.

     
    • D.C.

      October 23, 2012 at 5:25 pm

      I usually wouldn’t watch a video with other people. Usually I find myself unconsciously increasing the volume when people are talking or stopping it entirely when they want to ask a question 😀

       
  2. jukk888

    October 24, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    I know you had a tough time, but the way you wrote this post was humourous, to me at least. I don’t know if it was your intention, but it made me laugh.

     
    • D.C.

      October 25, 2012 at 9:15 am

      Glad you enjoyed it 🙂
      When I started writing this post, I could see the funny side to it. When it happening though, I was not amused

       
      • jukk888

        October 25, 2012 at 10:56 am

        It’s good that you can turn something negative into something funny.

         
  3. Mike Martinez

    October 26, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    total party foul….u were right be frustrated…..i would have told security….lol

     
    • D.C.

      October 27, 2012 at 7:17 am

      LOL! I could have done that..my friend would probably not look too kindly on that however

       

Drop a line..or two

 
