RSS

Cashing In On The “Homosexual Agenda”

14 Oct

I’m a calm person and not particularly given to rants (okay that may not be totally true). I also see myself as a (mostly) generous person and try to invest time and effort into helping others and give some financial help, however little, when  I cannot do more. It drives me insane when I realize that in trying to help someone or a cause, I have been taken advantage of or deceived. Enter the case of two young activists to whose cause I gave a donation so that they could work with some NGOs on LGBT rights in sub-Saharan Africa.

I’m not ready to put my face to this battle but that doesn’t mean I should not support those who are ready and willing to do so. I am also aware that there are a lot of people who claim to be fighting for the rights of LGBT but besides globe-trotting do absolutely NO WORK. I put up a significant amount (relatively since what is significant to me may be peanuts to the next person) to this person AGAINST MY BETTER JUDGEMENT. I just felt that I should give them the benefit of the doubt and rein in the cynicism this time. Guess what? They took a worldwide trip on the cash raised –  no updates, no reports and these were were promised at the time of asking for the money. I have reached out to them and gotten no response. I want to say that I will never make such a donation again but I know that will be wrong since there are a lot of genuine people out there who are really doing the work worldwide. It kills me that I had reservations about this particular duo but went ahead to give out the money. Even though I’m pissed off and have stored up a few choice ‘words’ for them should we ever meet again, I don’t blame them for they was acting according to their desires and only being true to their nature. The blame rather falls squarely on my shoulders because I should have thought carefully and assessed the situation a little more than I did before I made my decision. I will however look more closely next time.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2012 in Mind, Body and Soul

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Cashing In On The “Homosexual Agenda”

  1. angryricky

    October 14, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    I heard someone quoted once as saying, “If ten drunks knocked on my door, and I gave them all money, and only one of them bought milk instead of beer with it, I would consider all of it money well spent.” Don’t let your anger over one situation keep you from being generous with others.

     
    • D.C.

      October 14, 2012 at 3:43 pm

      I will keep that in mind.
      Thanks.

       

Drop a line..or two

 
